vallet mode/ data log with wideband capability

Have an idea or something you'd like to see in a new version? Let us know.
Post Reply
heelflip101
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:41 pm
Location: vancouver, washington
Contact:

vallet mode/ data log with wideband capability

Post by heelflip101 » Thu Aug 30, 2007 3:10 am

Could you give more options for speed limiters? Some other programmers give you the option to switch to a valet mode to limit the drivers speed. I'm tired of seeing the techs floor the gas in my car every time I bring it to the dealer for recall.

It would also be nice to have Recon work with a wideband for tunning purposes.

Thanks, Ryan

Juggalo_X
Warrant Officer 4
Warrant Officer 4
Posts: 206
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:10 am
Location: South Western Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: vallet mode/ data log with wideband capability

Post by Juggalo_X » Thu Aug 30, 2007 10:29 am

heelflip101 wrote:Could you give more options for speed limiters? Some other programmers give you the option to switch to a valet mode to limit the drivers speed. I'm tired of seeing the techs floor the gas in my car every time I bring it to the dealer for recall.

It would also be nice to have Recon work with a wideband for tunning purposes.

Thanks, Ryan
valet mode would be nice i had a valet run my mustang into the @ss end of a Durango in January cuz he was f*ckin around and doing dough nuts. Would have been nice if i could have valet moded the pcm so he wouldnt have been able to do that. i was not impressed :roll:
Image
Click Here for Sniper Special Forces Tuner Review!
Click Here for Sniper Special Forces Feature Demo Video!

Mattr66
Warrant Officer 5
Warrant Officer 5
Posts: 292
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 4:58 pm
Location: College Station, TX

Re: vallet mode/ data log with wideband capability

Post by Mattr66 » Thu Aug 30, 2007 10:41 am

i think an rpm limiter would be more valuable for the valet instead of a speed limiter.... like 2500 rpms....

Matt R
Matt Robinson
Delta Force Gas and Diesel Tuner
www.gearheadautomotiveperformance.com

Juggalo_X
Warrant Officer 4
Warrant Officer 4
Posts: 206
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:10 am
Location: South Western Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: vallet mode/ data log with wideband capability

Post by Juggalo_X » Thu Aug 30, 2007 10:43 am

Mattr66 wrote:i think an rpm limiter would be more valuable for the valet instead of a speed limiter.... like 2500 rpms....

Matt R
2500 rpms is still 80-100 KM/h on my ride, that would be pointless thats clearly enough speed for a valet to screw around in your ride with.
Image
Click Here for Sniper Special Forces Tuner Review!
Click Here for Sniper Special Forces Feature Demo Video!

Mattr66
Warrant Officer 5
Warrant Officer 5
Posts: 292
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 4:58 pm
Location: College Station, TX

Re: vallet mode/ data log with wideband capability

Post by Mattr66 » Thu Aug 30, 2007 11:20 am

yeah, but getting up to that speed would take alot of road and any attempt to floor the car would be pointless.....LOL Maybe 2000 or 1500 then...

Matt R
Matt Robinson
Delta Force Gas and Diesel Tuner
www.gearheadautomotiveperformance.com

Juggalo_X
Warrant Officer 4
Warrant Officer 4
Posts: 206
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:10 am
Location: South Western Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: vallet mode/ data log with wideband capability

Post by Juggalo_X » Thu Aug 30, 2007 11:28 am

Mattr66 wrote:yeah, but getting up to that speed would take alot of road and any attempt to floor the car would be pointless.....LOL Maybe 2000 or 1500 then...

Matt R
i say 1500 rpm rev limit with a 10km/h speed limit would work. u dont want 2000 rpm or up thats when u start to make power and 2500 is when its in its optimal torque band well for my mustang it is so then uve got a car that is limited so it hovers right on the optimal torque range. not good LOL
Image
Click Here for Sniper Special Forces Tuner Review!
Click Here for Sniper Special Forces Feature Demo Video!

Mattr66
Warrant Officer 5
Warrant Officer 5
Posts: 292
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 4:58 pm
Location: College Station, TX

Re: vallet mode/ data log with wideband capability

Post by Mattr66 » Thu Aug 30, 2007 12:19 pm

I remember on one of my other vehicles i was finally getting to romp on it for the first time and I had forgot I left my rev limiter set at 5000.... well i about crapped my pants when I hit the limiter at that rpm. Just a really uneasy feeling when you aren't expecting it...

Matt R
Matt Robinson
Delta Force Gas and Diesel Tuner
www.gearheadautomotiveperformance.com

Juggalo_X
Warrant Officer 4
Warrant Officer 4
Posts: 206
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:10 am
Location: South Western Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: vallet mode/ data log with wideband capability

Post by Juggalo_X » Thu Aug 30, 2007 12:24 pm

Mattr66 wrote:I remember on one of my other vehicles i was finally getting to romp on it for the first time and I had forgot I left my rev limiter set at 5000.... well i about crapped my pants when I hit the limiter at that rpm. Just a really uneasy feeling when you aren't expecting it...

Matt R
yep ive almost had to change my undies a few times too from some crazy maneuvers in my car. 8-)
Image
Click Here for Sniper Special Forces Tuner Review!
Click Here for Sniper Special Forces Feature Demo Video!

bgrd351
Command Sergeant Major
Command Sergeant Major
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 8:10 am

Re: vallet mode/ data log with wideband capability

Post by bgrd351 » Thu Aug 30, 2007 1:59 pm

my favorite is when you forget the traction control is on and you romp on it to "merge with traffic" and the car does a nose over...I had it lock the seatbelts in the Mach the first time I drove it after buying it. I was like :o ...had me wondering if I had just bought a lemon. Then I realized my 02 Gt always had the TC turned off and looked down to see the TC was still on in the Mach. :roll:

Juggalo_X
Warrant Officer 4
Warrant Officer 4
Posts: 206
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:10 am
Location: South Western Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: vallet mode/ data log with wideband capability

Post by Juggalo_X » Thu Aug 30, 2007 2:06 pm

bgrd351 wrote:my favorite is when you forget the traction control is on and you romp on it to "merge with traffic" and the car does a nose over...I had it lock the seatbelts in the Mach the first time I drove it after buying it. I was like :o ...had me wondering if I had just bought a lemon. Then I realized my 02 Gt always had the TC turned off and looked down to see the TC was still on in the Mach. :roll:
TCS is gone on my car i smashed the rear ABS sensors out i was pis$ed off and my rear end install was going on day 4 lol so smashy smashy, i had the TCS shut off with the SF software any how :D

The real kicker is when ur doing a smoke show or trying and u realize the TCS is on and ur like no wonder it sux so bad lol :roll:
Image
Click Here for Sniper Special Forces Tuner Review!
Click Here for Sniper Special Forces Feature Demo Video!

heelflip101
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:41 pm
Location: vancouver, washington
Contact:

Re: vallet mode/ data log with wideband capability

Post by heelflip101 » Fri Aug 31, 2007 3:24 am

It would be nice to use both a rpm and speed limiter low enough to make a difference. What would be really nice would be a WOT limiter for valets.

Juggalo_X
Warrant Officer 4
Warrant Officer 4
Posts: 206
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:10 am
Location: South Western Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: vallet mode/ data log with wideband capability

Post by Juggalo_X » Fri Aug 31, 2007 10:09 am

heelflip101 wrote:It would be nice to use both a rpm and speed limiter low enough to make a difference. What would be really nice would be a WOT limiter for valets.
yes but u cant really limit WOT if u put the pedal to the floor its a mechanical reaction the TB Butterfly will open and if you limit fuel at that point you will stall out bad. now if all the fords were drive by wire we would be talking but this is not the case. whats is it 05+ mustangs r drive by wire?
Image
Click Here for Sniper Special Forces Tuner Review!
Click Here for Sniper Special Forces Feature Demo Video!

heelflip101
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:41 pm
Location: vancouver, washington
Contact:

Re: vallet mode/ data log with wideband capability

Post by heelflip101 » Mon Sep 03, 2007 10:07 pm

Ya my car doesn't have Drive by wire but the full throttle limiter it would be useful on newer cars. Oh and I hate the traction control on my 06 GTI. Sniper needs to make the special forces work with VW so I can get the 250hp and almost 300tq you can make with the stock turbo on pump gas. Not to mention the added benefit of removing the traction control.

rocknroll
Private
Private
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 10:42 am

Re: vallet mode/ data log with wideband capability

Post by rocknroll » Wed Apr 30, 2008 2:52 pm

Valet mode is a little harder to do with just RPM on an 8-cyl. I had the Cobb accessport for my Subaru, which had a valet tune that limited the RPM to 2500-3000 (this car was throttle by wire but I think it only limited RPM). Basically enough to get around a parking lot but not to get into boost. This worked great because a 4cyl turbo that can't get into boost would take FOREVER to get up to a high speed. But with the torque of an 8cyl you could prob still get up to speed even with a 2500-3000 rpm limit.

Oh and I agree adding wideband datalogging to Recon would be HUGE.
Image
96 GT AED supercharged

User avatar
Charlie
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 12:01 pm
Location: North Texas

Re: vallet mode/ data log with wideband capability

Post by Charlie » Thu May 01, 2008 5:49 pm

Juggalo_X wrote:
heelflip101 wrote:Could you give more options for speed limiters? Some other programmers give you the option to switch to a valet mode to limit the drivers speed. I'm tired of seeing the techs floor the gas in my car every time I bring it to the dealer for recall.

It would also be nice to have Recon work with a wideband for tunning purposes.

Thanks, Ryan
valet mode would be nice i had a valet run my mustang into the @ss end of a Durango in January cuz he was f*ckin around and doing dough nuts. Would have been nice if i could have valet moded the pcm so he wouldnt have been able to do that. i was not impressed :roll:

That is exactly why I made a Vallet tune. Every thing is limited to 2500 rpms. Just pop it in before it goes to the shop. (If I ever take it to a shop.) :mrgreen:
99 Lightning Rebuilt and tuned by me! 7.86 1/8th @ 89MPH
I am no professional tuner. The information I share here is from my personal experience with my truck. Your application may be different. There for your results may be different.

Post Reply

Return to “Special Forces Feature Request”