Update?

Question and usages
kustomizedzx2
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 11:39 am
Contact:

Update?

Post by kustomizedzx2 » Sat Oct 06, 2007 9:31 pm

so when is the update going to be released?
Last edited by kustomizedzx2 on Wed Oct 17, 2007 10:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Sniper Tuned...Next: BOOST.

jstang07
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 6:23 pm
Location: Warner Robins ,Georgia

Re: Update?

Post by jstang07 » Sun Oct 07, 2007 7:30 pm

yeah me too ... like a little kid waiting on christmas ..lol

Jasem
Private
Private
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2007 6:22 pm

Re: Update?

Post by Jasem » Sat Oct 13, 2007 3:39 pm

Me 2 waiting for update's for Recon to work with version 13 interface :cry:

shaneb
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 4:09 pm

Re: Update?

Post by shaneb » Mon Oct 15, 2007 12:52 pm

I would guess this is my 2003 Cobra Recon issue. I have ver 13 of the interface. Has anyone heard anything? I don't want to schedule more track time until I can log things.

Thanks,

Shane

kustomizedzx2
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 11:39 am
Contact:

Re: Update?

Post by kustomizedzx2 » Mon Oct 15, 2007 10:07 pm

I've been told that it was supposed to be done last week, now we're looking at possible a couple more weeks. I'm dying here.
Image
Sniper Tuned...Next: BOOST.

User avatar
RRT
Sergeant First Class
Sergeant First Class
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 4:27 pm
Location: usa
Contact:

Re: Update?

Post by RRT » Mon Oct 15, 2007 11:12 pm

I feel your guys frustration but if you were to see the amount of work and time involved in making these programs it would blow you away and i would honestly rather wait a little longer for a product that works properly then have them release crap that hasnt been properly tested.
Delta Force Tuning Dealer
Ford Calibration Specialist

shaneb
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 4:09 pm

Re: Update?

Post by shaneb » Tue Oct 16, 2007 10:26 am

Everyone is aware that it takes time to release software but the issue I think most people have is when I purchased last week I had no idea that Recon would not function after my purchase. The same argument you made holds true in releasing the version 13 that broke it. All we can do is sit and wait but if I had a choice I'd take anything that kinda worked over something that doesn't work at all.

Hopefully we'll see a post soon as to status and maybe some beta testing opportunity for some of us. I can only complain about free software when its not opensource. The sniper commando package worked great for me but I was expecting to be able to also use recon for my datalogging.

Shane

kustomizedzx2
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 11:39 am
Contact:

Re: Update?

Post by kustomizedzx2 » Tue Oct 16, 2007 8:57 pm

i'm not trying to be impatient, I'm just hoping it gets done before it gets a whole lot colder, everyone knows that ford cars run alot differently in cold weather than in hot weather, and if I'm going to fine tune for summer, i want it right...know what i mean?
Image
Sniper Tuned...Next: BOOST.

User avatar
RRT
Sergeant First Class
Sergeant First Class
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 4:27 pm
Location: usa
Contact:

Re: Update?

Post by RRT » Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:46 am

Yeah i know what you guys mean for sure, i would love to datalog the ppc vehicles right now with the recon software but im using the IDS from ford until it comes out. Sorry guys wasnt trying to flame anyone i just know how much Pat,Chris and all the guys at Sniper bust there [I have a potty mouth] for us.
Delta Force Tuning Dealer
Ford Calibration Specialist

User avatar
cliffyk
Sniper Tech Support
Sniper Tech Support
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 7:36 pm

Re: Update?

Post by cliffyk » Wed Oct 17, 2007 5:04 am

shaneb wrote:Everyone is aware that it takes time to release software but the issue I think most people have is when I purchased last week I had no idea that Recon would not function after my purchase. The same argument you made holds true in releasing the version 13 that broke it. All we can do is sit and wait but if I had a choice I'd take anything that kinda worked over something that doesn't work at all.

Hopefully we'll see a post soon as to status and maybe some beta testing opportunity for some of us. I can only complain about free software when its not opensource. The sniper commando package worked great for me but I was expecting to be able to also use recon for my datalogging.

Shane
I believe there are two issues at play in this thread. The original poster and others are talking about the ability to log data on the newer model vehicles ('05+), Shane and I are unable to data log on our '03 Mustangs--a capability advertised as being a delivered feature of the current SF package.

I have visited Sniper's shop in Sanford on two occasions, once right after I got the package and version 12 of the software had hung up during flashing and disabled my car (Chris provided new fingerprints over the phone and after two tries I was able to get the OEM tune reinstalled). On that trip we found that version 12 of the software would consistently hang while flashing my '03 GT--and that version 13 worked correctly.

The next trip a week later was made after I found that version 13 would not datalog with my car (this is the same problem Shane is having). Chris and I once again spent considerable time trying various combinations of interfaces and notebook PCs with no success, then he had a thought to try a v12 interface and bingo we were data logging.

This last trip was 3 weeks ago Monday, and I have to admit I am becoming rather frustrated that the product does not do what it was advertised as being capable of doing. The last communication I had from them was a week ago, indicating that they were working on it--which is very nice, however over my 45 years or so of project management one thing I have learned is to not confuse effort with results...

The firmware can be loaded in the field, and one suggestion I made was that they could send me both the v12 and v13 images. I could load v12 for data logging, and v13 in the event I wanted to flash the PCM (which I will now ONLY do on weekdays between 9:00 am and 6:00 pm). I have not received any response to this message sent a week ago tomorrow afternoon.

While I won't go as far as to say that I am not a "happy camper" at this point in time, I will say that I am sort of on the fence with regard to the SF package. I have had for a bit over a month and frankly would not (but only if asked for now) recommend it to anyone.

I hope this issue can be resolved in a timely manner and I can at last have a fully functional package, if not then I will likely be moving back to SCT and just chalk this up to a bad investment.
-cliff knight-
My Mustang
Multi-fuel: Burns gas and rubber

User avatar
Sniper Chris
General of the Army
General of the Army
Posts: 569
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 3:54 pm
Location: Sanford, FL
Contact:

Re: Update?

Post by Sniper Chris » Wed Oct 17, 2007 9:19 am

Let me start by saying that we apologize for ANY inconveniences that v13 may have caused with data logging. There is a problem with Recon that we're in the process or correcting. If it's not being done quick enough for you, then again we apologize but I assure you it is being addressed.

Shaneb,
Because of the inconsistent issues we had with v12, we feel that something that "kinda" works would just cause more frustration and could put you in a situation that's very inconvenient to you.

kustomizedzx2,
Again, I'm sorry that you're "dying" not having the Recon. I know you recently got the tuning package from us directly so if you would like to return it please give me a call.

cliffyk,
Believe me, our efforts will create results. The only problem is I cannot predict the future and tell you when those results will occur. Unfortunately it's not as simple as sending you the v12 firmware and you're good to go. If it was, I would have done it a long time ago. In fact, you would have left here with it if that was possible. I know you (and others) are frustrated. So are we! Writing software is quite unique and can be time consuming. I'm sorry you feel that you could not recommend the Special Forces to anyone. I hope we can change your thoughts on that. We have easily sold thousands of the Special Forces packages by now and I know over 99.9% of them have been extremely satisfied even without the Recon. Yes, Recon is free software that is suppose to come with the package. Yes, we ran into a problem with it and Yes we will fix the problem.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Technical Support

407.321.5725
www.DeltaForceTuning.com

kustomizedzx2
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 11:39 am
Contact:

Re: Update?

Post by kustomizedzx2 » Wed Oct 17, 2007 10:31 am

Sniper Chris wrote:Let me start by saying that we apologize for ANY inconveniences that v13 may have caused with data logging. There is a problem with Recon that we're in the process or correcting. If it's not being done quick enough for you, then again we apologize but I assure you it is being addressed.

Shaneb,
Because of the inconsistent issues we had with v12, we feel that something that "kinda" works would just cause more frustration and could put you in a situation that's very inconvenient to you.

kustomizedzx2,
Again, I'm sorry that you're "dying" not having the Recon. I know you recently got the tuning package from us directly so if you would like to return it please give me a call.

cliffyk,
Believe me, our efforts will create results. The only problem is I cannot predict the future and tell you when those results will occur. Unfortunately it's not as simple as sending you the v12 firmware and you're good to go. If it was, I would have done it a long time ago. In fact, you would have left here with it if that was possible. I know you (and others) are frustrated. So are we! Writing software is quite unique and can be time consuming. I'm sorry you feel that you could not recommend the Special Forces to anyone. I hope we can change your thoughts on that. We have easily sold thousands of the Special Forces packages by now and I know over 99.9% of them have been extremely satisfied even without the Recon. Yes, Recon is free software that is suppose to come with the package. Yes, we ran into a problem with it and Yes we will fix the problem.

I'm am in no way, shape, or form unhappy with the product. I can wait as long as it takes, and trust me chris, I do not want to return it. I will wait, I was just hoping it was going to be done the week I started this post because that saturday was dyno day at the local shop, and I wanted to help you out by running the car twice, once with the stock tune, and once with the tune I created, and show the difference. I do realize I could've done it without the recon, but the guy using the dyno doesn't have it down pat yet to REALLY know what he's doing. I just wanted to log it myself, and have it for the prupose of fine tuning.

I AM very happy with this product, and have EVER only had good things to say about it. I will not return it, I will patiently wait for the update.

Please Chris, do not take me creating this thread in a bad way. I am going to do exactly what I told you I would do when you offered me what you offered me. I will represent Sniper and hopefully help you guys out in anyway get more business. I actually have a guy right now that has been blowing me up with questions because he like what he sees with the site, and that it seems like a MUCH better deal than with SCT.
Image
Sniper Tuned...Next: BOOST.

jstang07
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 6:23 pm
Location: Warner Robins ,Georgia

Re: Update?

Post by jstang07 » Wed Oct 17, 2007 11:17 am

first off let me say I am so happy with sniper .. I have talked about you guys to everyone I meet at car shows... you tech help and overall service is awsome .. In response to chris and his post and my other post .. I'm just giving you guys some crap .... some just fun humor .. :lol:

shaneb
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 4:09 pm

Re: Update?

Post by shaneb » Wed Oct 17, 2007 1:06 pm

Chris,
Thanks for the response. My main beef with the whole thing is it was not once mentioned that datalogging was broken when I purchased the package and yes I was sold a Verison 13 with a green sticker that said 13. It also took me a few days to figure out that it was just broken rather than something I was doing etc. Putting that aside, the rest of the package works great.
I've worked for and owned a software companies and other technology companies for many years and from my point of view I don't understand how a firmware update "hoarked" (technical term) up the recon communications for at least 3 weeks but again I'm not privy to details. In my experience we've had changes on hardware devices that some protocol, speed or translation work needed to be done but nothing that took more than a day or so for some results.
If you do have something thats ready to test I'd be happy to test it becuase with recon it should be a read only thing and I wouldn't expect any problems any worse that I have now. I've been a MSDN subscriber for years and have no problems testing and debugging code. I have have USB/Serial decoding equipment and about 5 years experience making USB drivers for linux and windows. And if you want to get really adventurous maybe a API or opensource project would be cool so others could help develop recon since its free. Just out of curiosty how many developers are working on it and what is the root cause of the communications problem? Don't take anything I say as negitive becuase the sniper suite is the best I've seen and the Commando product did exactly what I needed. I'm mostly just giving yall crap and at this point I'm not too upset its broken. I needed the datalogging as well and I'm just curious as to why it is taking so long and if there is something I've run into that may help.

Thanks,

Shane

User avatar
cliffyk
Sniper Tech Support
Sniper Tech Support
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 7:36 pm

Re: Update?

Post by cliffyk » Wed Oct 17, 2007 4:54 pm

Chris,

I agree with all that Shane has said, including his comments regarding "hoarked" up firmware/software. As you know I too am in the IT/electronics industry and have dealt with my share of plowing through "what the heck did we do that broke this" situations.

I very pleased with what the SF package CAN do, as I told you when we met dollar for dollar it is way ahead of the competition--but it does need to work as advertised. My biggest frustration is that I've seen how great the Recon package is and like any good American I want it now!

Please keep us in the loop as to what's going on. It doesn't have to be one-on-one emails, an occasional "we're working on it" posting here would work for me.
-cliff knight-
My Mustang
Multi-fuel: Burns gas and rubber

shaneb
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 4:09 pm

Re: Update?

Post by shaneb » Wed Oct 17, 2007 9:50 pm

Exactly.

shaneb
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 4:09 pm

Re: Update?

Post by shaneb » Mon Oct 22, 2007 2:50 pm

Any ETA or details on a fix?

kustomizedzx2
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 11:39 am
Contact:

Re: Update?

Post by kustomizedzx2 » Mon Oct 22, 2007 10:52 pm

spoke to my man Chris last week, and according to him, it may be a bit, it seems that the computer that had all the information on it for the RECON program had crashed to my understanding and they are basically starting from scratch. I believe we need to give them the benefit of the doubt, and leave it alone a little while and just be patient.
Image
Sniper Tuned...Next: BOOST.

shaneb
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 4:09 pm

Re: Update?

Post by shaneb » Tue Oct 23, 2007 12:42 pm

First off I want to say rumors are rumors. But if Recon was lost I don't agree with the previous posts that we would all just have to wait and I get the sense that Recon is "Free" and not a priority. The fact is, I paid for the package and it was advertised as having a data logging solution. Its been weeks and no word from them with the exception of saying "we are working on it, and if its not coming fast enought..." has left a bad taste in my mouth. If recon really is "lost" due to the ol' "I didn't back it up" I don't really think thats a good thing worthy of sympathy. I also won't like the fact that, as a customer, we have been left in the dark for some time now.
To keep this constructive:
1. If someone at sniper will post the real status of recon. Is it lost, getting scratched becuase Microsoft decided to change dev enviros, we just don't have the resources, etc etc... Come out with it already.
2. I get the sense that recon is termed a free product. I don't really agree that its free becuase you need to purchase something from sniper to use it and the advertising for the package indicates datalogging. Depending on #1 and if its really going to be free why not opensource or otherwise make avaible the API to get the data?
3. I'm not sure if the sniper folks are aware that people are boiling behind the scenes. I recommend posting some explination and maybe a bit quicker response time to customer woes espically if its a firmware/software issue that takes an entire application out of the package until further notice.

Shane

User avatar
Sniper Chris
General of the Army
General of the Army
Posts: 569
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 3:54 pm
Location: Sanford, FL
Contact:

Re: Update?

Post by Sniper Chris » Tue Oct 23, 2007 5:23 pm

Well, I'm going to stick by my previous statement that "we are working on it and I'm sorry the results aren't happening as quick as you want". At this point, the only ETA I can give you is that it will be at least 1 month. When version 13 was released it was not known that there was a problem with Recon. It was only discovered when Cliffyk came to our shop one afternoon (weeks after its release). I suspect that you purchased your version 13 prior to us discovering this. We definately do not want ANYONE boiling behind the scenes, so because of this issue, I think your dealer would be understanding of this problem and allow you to return the product to them (just make sure the Bullet has been returned to the interface). If they aren't, let me know who the dealer you purchased from is and I'll get in contact with them. We're known for having excellent customer service and that's not going to stop because of this one problem. Our customer services has been and will always be a priority for us. It's going to be fixed.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Technical Support

407.321.5725
www.DeltaForceTuning.com

Post Reply

Return to “RECON Data Logging”