AFR wideband meter info

High Performance Catalytic Converters Questions and Answers Forum
Post Reply
sniperpat469
General of the Army
General of the Army
Posts: 427
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 2:53 pm

AFR wideband meter info

Post by sniperpat469 » Mon Jul 23, 2007 3:18 pm

Here is some info on the Sniper wide band AFR meter

http://www.snipertuning.com/new/product.phtml?p=50
Image

User avatar
Fepony
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: NW Florida

Re: AFR wideband meter info

Post by Fepony » Thu Jul 26, 2007 3:12 pm

What's the price on these puppies? They look awesome.

User avatar
Sniper Chris
General of the Army
General of the Army
Posts: 538
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 3:54 pm
Location: Sanford, FL
Contact:

Re: AFR wideband meter info

Post by Sniper Chris » Thu Jul 26, 2007 5:21 pm

Some additional information

Sniper pt# AF-5000

· Complete air/fuel ratio metering system with built-in data logging. Includes WEGO II Wide-Band Exhaust Gas Oxygen Sensor Interface,
Bosch LSU4.2 5-wire wide-band oxygen sensor, 18x1.5mm weld nut for mounting sensor on exhaust pipe, and software on CDROM

· Versatile tuning aid for all carbureted and fuel injected engines displays AFR (air/fuel ratio) and logs over 2 hours data including
AFR, engine RPM, and a spare 0-5V analog input for sensors such as throttle position or manifold pressure

· Can be used for on-road or dyno testing

· Suitable for automotive, motorcycle, and other small engine applications

· Highly accurate with less than ±0.10 AFR error over 10.3 - 19.5 AFR range

· Easy free-air calibration procedure corrects for sensor aging effects

· 0-5V analog AFR output compatible with Twin Tec TCFI fuel injection system for closed loop AFR control

· Red LCD display with backlight provides great readability in all conditions ranging from bright sunlight to total darkness

· Wide supply voltage range from 11-18V allows operation from battery on small engines and race vehicles without an alternator. Current
drain is approx. 1 amp

· Compact size: 3.7"L x 1.7"W x 0.75"H
Attachments
AF-5000 logging ss.JPG
sample screen shot
AF-5000 logging ss.JPG (256.83 KiB) Viewed 5306 times
Director of Sales & Marketing
Technical Support

407.321.5725
www.DeltaForceTuning.com

User avatar
Fepony
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: NW Florida

Re: AFR wideband meter info

Post by Fepony » Thu Jul 26, 2007 6:04 pm

And this interfaces with the datalogger and tuner so changes can be made?

User avatar
Sniper Chris
General of the Army
General of the Army
Posts: 538
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 3:54 pm
Location: Sanford, FL
Contact:

Re: AFR wideband meter info

Post by Sniper Chris » Thu Jul 26, 2007 6:25 pm

Fepony wrote:And this interfaces with the datalogger and tuner so changes can be made?

Unfortunately it does not interface with the datalogger. It's a "stand-alone" air/fuel monitor/logging.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Technical Support

407.321.5725
www.DeltaForceTuning.com

User avatar
geoffav
Second Lieutenant
Second Lieutenant
Posts: 362
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Enterprise, AL
Contact:

Re: AFR wideband meter info

Post by geoffav » Thu Jul 26, 2007 11:34 pm

I may need one as well. :evil:

I have the Innovate LC1 in my Mach1 and we had been using the LM1 for the GT but it appears to have walked off. It was in a box on the floor behind the passenger seat but now the box and everything else that we had in it is GONE. I'm hoping it's at a friends shop but I'll know more tomorrow.

Does the meter come with an rpm converter or does it use another method for tapping rpm than the LM1?
Geoff
04 Mach1 Torch Red 5spd w/281 CobraJet Engine
03 Mach1 Azure Blue 5spd w/281 CobraJet Engine
33 Ford 3 Window, 4.6DOHC stack intake

http://www.weevilcitycruisers.com/index.html

sniperpat469
General of the Army
General of the Army
Posts: 427
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 2:53 pm

Re: AFR wideband meter info

Post by sniperpat469 » Fri Jul 27, 2007 7:37 am

Depending on the vehicle it will need an rpm converter.

this is the best afr I have ever used and I think I have use most all of them.


Patrick
Image

User avatar
geoffav
Second Lieutenant
Second Lieutenant
Posts: 362
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: Enterprise, AL
Contact:

Re: AFR wideband meter info

Post by geoffav » Sat Jul 28, 2007 1:17 pm

sniperpat469 wrote:Depending on the vehicle it will need an rpm converter.

this is the best afr I have ever used and I think I have use most all of them.


Patrick


I'll have to program one into the budget. I enjoyed the LM1 and prefer a portable unit to the LC1 in the Mach1. Most of the time it just takes up space in the car. :|
Geoff
04 Mach1 Torch Red 5spd w/281 CobraJet Engine
03 Mach1 Azure Blue 5spd w/281 CobraJet Engine
33 Ford 3 Window, 4.6DOHC stack intake

http://www.weevilcitycruisers.com/index.html

TunerTools
Private
Private
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 4:41 pm
Location: New England
Contact:

Re: AFR wideband meter info

Post by TunerTools » Tue Sep 11, 2007 6:42 pm

How long is the main cable from the meter to the sensor?

mutabi
Private
Private
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 12:41 pm

Re: AFR wideband meter info

Post by mutabi » Sun Oct 14, 2007 10:08 pm

This may be a stupid question, but how does it work? Do the sensors replace the stock o2 sensors?

Can you use it on more than one vehicle?

Dcwarz
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 2:41 pm
Location: St Charles, Illinois

Re: AFR wideband meter info

Post by Dcwarz » Mon Oct 15, 2007 7:04 am

Some answers:

Q1. How long is the main cable from the meter to the sensor?

Ans: I just installed in on an '02 Lightning and it was long enough to go through the fire wall the back to my rear O2 Sensor and still have about a foot to play with. I followed that same path as the stock rear O2 sensor wiring. It is about 8 ~ 10 ft long. Since I ran the red power line to the under the hood power box I had to add a few feet of wire. The black (ground) wire I ground under the dash.

Q 2. Do the sensors replace the stock O2 sensors?

Ans 2: It will replace 1 of the stock O2 sensors.

Great AF meter with a very bright easy to read red digital display even in bright sunlight.
Dennis W.
Hollywood Racing
Sniper Tuned ~
Commando adjusted

SVT2NV1775
Private
Private
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 4:44 am

Re: AFR wideband meter info

Post by SVT2NV1775 » Wed Oct 24, 2007 8:26 am

Dcwarz,

where did you mount the gauge at? do you have pics?

Jeremy

Dcwarz
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 2:41 pm
Location: St Charles, Illinois

Re: AFR wideband meter info

Post by Dcwarz » Wed Oct 24, 2007 9:04 am

Well right now it is not mounted but that is because I am having a re-calibration issue that Patrick is helping me with. From what I have read having a problem with this unit is very rare so I may have the unusual one.

Where I have picked to mount it is right above the fuse panel cover plate on the left side of the dash. That is where I brought out the wires. I'll add an angle bracket to tilt it a little upwards for easy viewing holding it in place with some strong Velcro.

I wanted to bring the wires though the bottom section of the steering wheel but could not get the cover off enough to run the connector through that section. Then I could have mounted it just below the dash gauges on the left side. Either location works out OK as the digital screen if very bright.

If I get it up and running I'll take some pics.

Oh yeah, the cable length is 12 feet.
Dennis W.
Hollywood Racing
Sniper Tuned ~
Commando adjusted

Post Reply

Return to “Wide Band A/F Meters”