Cold Weather adjustment tune

Have a question or in need of assistance?
Dcwarz
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 2:41 pm
Location: St Charles, Illinois

Cold Weather adjustment tune

Postby Dcwarz » Fri Oct 12, 2007 8:52 am

Now that it is getting cooler up north here do I need to make a cold weather tune with adjusted timing like I did when using a Predator tuner?

Vehicle - 2002 Lightning, built block, stage 2 cams, running 17lbs boost. Special Forces Tune, A/F for WOT adj to 11.6 via Delta, all else to include timing as SF laid out. 93 Octane
Dennis W.
Hollywood Racing
Sniper Tuned ~
Commando adjusted

sniperpat469
General of the Army
General of the Army
Posts: 427
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 2:53 pm

Re: Cold Weather adjustment tune

Postby sniperpat469 » Fri Oct 12, 2007 12:14 pm

The ECU should compasate for the temprature change , the only thing you may have to correct for is it the gas stations sell winterised fuel .
if they do you may want to pull a couple degrees timing.
and make sure the AFR is still good


Patrick
Image

Dcwarz
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 2:41 pm
Location: St Charles, Illinois

Re: Cold Weather adjustment tune

Postby Dcwarz » Fri Oct 12, 2007 4:01 pm

Patrick,

Thanks......

... that brings up another issue that just came up.

My AF meter functions some of the time.

Initial run after install. Took about 3 minutes to go from 9.99 to 10.00, then picked up AF's perfectly.

Today just starting out it came up perfectly. I stopped to refuel then turn on the car and again the 10.00. Drove 10 miles and no change. A coupld hours later started the L up and drove 15 miles and it is stuck on 10.00.

Any suggestions on what may be wrong?
Dennis W.
Hollywood Racing
Sniper Tuned ~
Commando adjusted

sniperpat469
General of the Army
General of the Army
Posts: 427
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 2:53 pm

Re: Cold Weather adjustment tune

Postby sniperpat469 » Fri Oct 12, 2007 9:27 pm

Make sure it has a good 12v source

Patrick
Image

Dcwarz
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 2:41 pm
Location: St Charles, Illinois

Re: Cold Weather adjustment tune

Postby Dcwarz » Sat Oct 13, 2007 8:42 am

I've got it tied into a lead in the fuse box in the engine compartment.

Lead reads 14.3 Volts, right from the battery I'd say.

Has this problem ever come up before?
Dennis W.
Hollywood Racing
Sniper Tuned ~
Commando adjusted

sniperpat469
General of the Army
General of the Army
Posts: 427
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 2:53 pm

Re: Cold Weather adjustment tune

Postby sniperpat469 » Sun Oct 14, 2007 7:43 am

in the instruction booklet there is a procedure to set the calibration take the sensor out and preforn that function. it think it will help

Patrick
Image

Dcwarz
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 2:41 pm
Location: St Charles, Illinois

Re: Cold Weather adjustment tune

Postby Dcwarz » Sun Oct 14, 2007 9:13 am

Patrick,

Found my booklet......... finally.

I'll try the calibration and let you know.

Sorry, to bother you on the weekend.

Have a great Sunday.........
Dennis W.
Hollywood Racing
Sniper Tuned ~
Commando adjusted

Dcwarz
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 2:41 pm
Location: St Charles, Illinois

Re: Cold Weather adjustment tune

Postby Dcwarz » Wed Oct 17, 2007 1:27 pm

I recalibrated the AF meter yesterday just as the booklet stated, hung sensor in the air. Watched the flashing led go from slow to fast then set the pot at 19.80.

Just took her out today for a 20 minute spin and it still doesn't read the AF parameters anymore.

AF meter starts at 9.99 then goes to 10.00 with the led still slowly flashing.

I just got in my seriel to USB cable so I will try the WEGo software to see if that can diagnose the problem.

Any more suggestions?
Dennis W.
Hollywood Racing
Sniper Tuned ~
Commando adjusted

sniperpat469
General of the Army
General of the Army
Posts: 427
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 2:53 pm

Re: Cold Weather adjustment tune

Postby sniperpat469 » Wed Oct 17, 2007 2:30 pm

Well maybe if that dosent work We can try another sensor

Patrick
Image

Dcwarz
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 2:41 pm
Location: St Charles, Illinois

Re: Cold Weather adjustment tune

Postby Dcwarz » Wed Oct 17, 2007 2:43 pm

Patrick,

Well I installed the WEGO on my Laptop but it won't load up. I get an error code stating " Automation error - The specified module could not be found"

If I keep on trying eventually it comes up but then when I get another error code stating - Invalid procedure call or arguement.

Any suggestions on this new glitch.

I'm running XP on a new Gateway MX1027.
Dennis W.
Hollywood Racing
Sniper Tuned ~
Commando adjusted

sniperpat469
General of the Army
General of the Army
Posts: 427
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 2:53 pm

Re: Cold Weather adjustment tune

Postby sniperpat469 » Wed Oct 17, 2007 3:30 pm

Everyting is plugged in and powered up.

If you like send it back and I can check it.

Patrick
Image

Dcwarz
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 2:41 pm
Location: St Charles, Illinois

Re: Cold Weather adjustment tune

Postby Dcwarz » Wed Oct 17, 2007 3:37 pm

OK it must be my Laptop on the WEGO because it loads up perfect on my PC. So I have to figure out whats up with Laptop. It loads in perfect with the windows installer but just won't pull up right. It even leaves off the Sniper name prior to WEGO at the top of the program when it does come up after I hit abort a few times.

However, all that does is stop me from getting a diag code with the WEGO for the AF-5000.

I still have the problem with the AF-5000 not coming out of 10.00 reading with slow lighted led.

I even tried adjusting the pot while running to see if it would pick up anything but 10.00 was steady.
Dennis W.
Hollywood Racing
Sniper Tuned ~
Commando adjusted

Dcwarz
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 2:41 pm
Location: St Charles, Illinois

Re: Cold Weather adjustment tune

Postby Dcwarz » Thu Oct 18, 2007 7:11 am

OK I found the problem with my Laptor not running WEGO properly. It appears the Windows XP SP2 did not have the latest VB Script so I downloaded the latest version from Microsoft.

Ver 5.6 will suffice or go for ver 5.7 to better associate with Vista.

Here's the link to Microsoft should someone else need it...

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... gzKw%3d%3d
Dennis W.
Hollywood Racing
Sniper Tuned ~
Commando adjusted

sniperpat469
General of the Army
General of the Army
Posts: 427
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 2:53 pm

Re: Cold Weather adjustment tune

Postby sniperpat469 » Thu Oct 18, 2007 10:15 am

Good work
thanks for the info

Patrick
Image

Dcwarz
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 2:41 pm
Location: St Charles, Illinois

Re: Cold Weather adjustment tune

Postby Dcwarz » Thu Oct 18, 2007 10:22 am

I couldn't find the USBG-232 adapter locally so bought the Prolific one (next best one out there) and guess what it will not work. So anyone who has a USB only connections ONLY buy the USBGear USB-232. My bad.

I've got that one on order so won't be able to read the AF-5K until it arrives.
Dennis W.
Hollywood Racing
Sniper Tuned ~
Commando adjusted


Return to “Commando - Delta Forces Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

cron